The Poppy

I send this to you as a token, a reminder that life goes on whether I survive and return to you changed forever or die here. I hope more than anything that the former will be true. I still have the memory of your smile and remember the line around your eyes when you do. That thought will always keep me going out here.

I pray that this poppy means the same to you as it does to me. I hope the red of the petals remind you not only of the blood shed and the danger we are all in but that we are passionate about your freedom and this calms you. The colour of passion should show you that it is all love, love for our country, love for our fellow men, love for everyone back home and most of all my everlasting love for you. I love you. Recognise that love is motivating our desire to make the world a better place, one day full of peace. 

The dark centre should remind you that death and darkness exist especially as a result of all the love, passion and fighting. I want it to remind you that they exist so that you do not become disheartened and to not lead yourself to either of those. Shine on others with the lightness of your being but remember that not everyone gets to live such a plentiful life.

The green leaf must make you think of the beauty of life and mother nature’s own for it is a beautiful and unpredictable thing. We never know the course which it will take. 

I do not know how I will fare through these battles but I hope with all my heart I survive like this little flower. This flower will hopefully ignite the same hope within you. 

Leave a Reply

