dancing with the angels

I am so jealous, gorgeous girl as I watch all these people dressed divinely walk through those same doors that we did after months of deciphering on ASOS. I see them come in and witness the committee heads being bossy about the decorations, I hope I was never that bad! I witness them take their pink drinks and think of how much you enjoyed those, the image of you swirling around this very dance floor with one in your hand in that beautiful gown that suited you so well. No wonder you liked bubbly so much, it encompasses everything that you were. I make sure to tell the girls they look pretty and compliment their dresses and watch them go and touch up their make up as they ask me to capture these moments with a flash. I remember you reassured me I had done a good job covering my black eye with layers of concealer and foundation. As I sweep glass from this dance floor, I remember advising you to keep your shoes on that night, the evening it felt like we took over this hotel. We took shots using our drinks vouchers at this bar I now stand behind and envy them knocking them back now knowing I won’t get to do it with you for a long time. If I close my eyes hard enough, I can See us spinning around the dance floor singing our lungs out to Whitney but as soon as I open them, you disappear and the shimmer you brought to my life is just reflected in the broken glass I clean up from the floor.

Anyway, I’m sure you’re looking as beautiful as ever wearing a dress to match the sparkle in your eyes and spilling your kindness everywhere as an angel somewhere now.

Rest well darling girl xxx

Leave a Reply

